What a Treat

15 Jun

About two weeks ago I got the shock of my little food-lovin’ life when I got an e-mail from Elle Magazine in SA asking if I’d like to be part of their August food story. I almost fell out of my seat and immediately proceeded to e-mail my best friend Caroline with the news before even knowing entirely what it involved!

Cheska, Editorial Assistant & Stylist from Elle proceeded to inform me (after I responded to her e-mail in a record 0.09 seconds saying “YES” that she’d found my blog and loved it (dies) and would like me to be one of about 8 contributors for the August food story on favorite childhood meals! My mind immediately started to run as I thought of all the many foods that I loved as a child. Too many to pick. But some of them were just downright classless and not what I really wanted to be known for by all the fabulous Elle readers, like, for example, Velveeta Macaroni N’ Cheese with Oscar Meyer hot dogs in them. Don’t judge ya’ll, that meal was and still is the GOING.

22 years ago!!

I finally decided to make my precious Pink Velvet Cupcakes. Duh, no surprise, cupcakes are my absolute favorite treats ever and ironically, they were the first things I ever learned how to make, followed shortly after by Sloppy Joes (barf).

I grew up in a town called New Rochelle in the suburbs of New York where I attended Hudson Montessori School for my first years of education. I don’t know if I could ever raise kids in the US, but if I ever do happen to, I will do everything in my power to make sure they attend that school. I learned so many intense things at such a young age from that institution and I am so grateful for it. I have distinct memories of standing up on a chair and using an electric mixer to mix the ingredients to chocolate cupcakes (obviously, using a Duncan Hines ready-made-mix, but hey, I was 6 after all). To this day, I still have a scar on my left arm from when I decided to not listen to my mother’s strict instructions and inserted my whole entire body into the oven in an attempt to remove my cupcakes from the singing hot device. So there was no two ways about it, I was going to make my famous (if I should say so myself) pink velvets.

I flew into Joburg (on a day I will not mention for legal purposes lol) and out just for this shoot. Same day. I felt so cool doing that. Why? I don’t know. The shoot was held at one of my favorite little spots in Jozi; Wolves. I first went to Wolves about two years ago for my best friend Milli’s birthday party and fell in love. It is so adorable and homely and I love all their baked goods. One day I hope to open a little patisserie that resembles Wolves. It’s so warm in there. Not literally, especially in this frigid weather, but you know. Anyway, as usual, I digress.

I got to meet so many amazing young women, and one guy, who share my love for food. Please check out their blogs ( Nomi’s, Thando’s and Janine’s). It was such an awesome day and a huge eye-opener to all the possibilities that are out there in this world of food!

Thank you Elle for a fantastic day and a fantastic experience!! LOVED IT!!!

Oh and the issue is coming out in mid-July guys, so please look out for it and buy a copy. I’ll be sure to post a link as soon as I get one!!!

Leave a Reply

