Baking Tips

19 Feb


Every now and then I come across little tips and ideas to make baking easier. One thing that’s just come to mind is the differences in flours!! Majority of the recipes I use, I’ve had from childhood and they are thus US based. And I always used to get so confused as to what kind of flour to use in place of all-purpose flour, which a lot of American recipes call for. Should I use self-raising flour, cake flour, white bread flour??

Well I recently came across a very helpful website that eased it all out for me. When making cakes and cupcakes and anything else that needs to be soft and moist, the best replacement for all-purpose flour is (duh) cake flour. The trick is to substitute 1 cup of all-purpose flour for 1 cup and 2 tablespoons of cake flour. Other flours make the batter crumbly and the cupcakes are likely to fall apart when you’re finished baking!!!

HAPPY BAKING 🙂

Leave a Reply

